Saturday, July 11, 2009

Incoming mail from British India 1898-1911



Formally the British Indian empire existed for ninety years -- from 1858–1947.  It consisted of large parts of most of the countries in South Asia.

British India was established in 1858 out of the East India Company lands as a colonial possession of the United Kingdom directly ruled by the British Crown. Indirect control was exercised over of the remaining princely states of Baluchistan, Hyderabad, Kashmir, Mysore, Rajputana, and Travancore.  The term British India also applied to parts of  Burma.

The earliest card seen here was sent to the 1890s Luxembourg stamp dealer J-G. Paquelet.  Two others are from the correspondence of Diekirch's Charles Schaack; the fourth is from present day Bangladesh, and the fifth from  correspondence of the Carmelite cloister in Luxembourg-Ville.

1-anna Queen Victoria postal card

Bombay, July 1898, to Luneville, France,
forwarded to Luxembourg-Ville,
received August 9, 1898.




1-anna Queen Victoria reply postal card

Shembaganur Madura, July 26, 1905

Transit:  Sea Post Office, July 29th

Arrival: Diekirch, August 14th





1/4-anna King Edward VII Postal card

(uprated with a 1/2-anna definitive)

Bandura, Hashnabad, Dacca [today: Dhaka, Bangladesh]

January 14, 1905

Transit:  Sea Post Office, January 20th

Arrival: Luxembourg-Ville, February 4th




1-anna King Edward VII postal card

Darjeeling, July 21, 1909

Transit:  Sea Post Office Bombay-Aden A, July 24th




1-anna King Edward VII postal card

Tangasseri Travancore, July 25, 1911

Arrival:  Luxembourg-Ville, August 12th



No comments: